Find Out If Your Facebook Data Was Compromised By Cambridge Analytica

If you’re wondering if your Facebook data was compromised as part of the information Facebook shared with Cambridge Analytica, here’s where to go to find out.

Facebook is in the process of notifying people if their personal data was shared with Cambridge Analytica yesterday and today, but notifications can be fleeting and are not appearing consistently in the same place, depending on how you access Facebook.
To check if Facebook knows whether your data was given to Cambridge Analytics, log in to Facebook and visit this page:

How can I tell if my information was shared with Cambridge Analytica?

If your data wasn’t shared, you’ll see this message in a text box:

Was My Information Shared?
Based on our available records, neither you nor your friends logged into “This Is Your Digital Life.”
As a result, it doesn’t appear your Facebook information was shared with Cambridge Analytica by “This Is Your Digital Life.”

If your data was compromised, you’ll see one of these three messages in a text box:

Protecting Your Information

1. “We understand the importance of keeping your data safe.
We have banned the app “This Is Your Digital Life,” which one of your friends used Facebook to log into. We did this because the app may have misused some of your Facebook information by sharing it with a company called Cambridge Analytica. In most cases, the information was limited to public profile, Page likes, birthday, and current city.
You can learn more about what happened and how you can remove apps and websites anytime if you no longer want them to have access to your Facebook information.
There is more work to do, but we are committed to confronting abuse and to putting you in control of your privacy.”

2. “Based on our investigation, you don’t appear to have logged into “This Is Your Digital Life” with Facebook before we removed it from our platform in 2015. However, a friend of yours did log in.
As a result, the following information was likely shared with “This Is Your Digital Life”:
Your public profile, Page likes, birthday and current city
A small number of people who logged into “This Is Your Digital Life” also shared their own News Feed, timeline, posts and messages which may have included posts and messages from you. They may also have shared your hometown.”

3.  “Our investigation indicates you logged into “This Is Your Digital Life” with Facebook before we removed it from our platform in 2015.
As a result, you likely shared the following information with “This Is Your Digital Life”:
Your public profile, Page likes, birthday and current city
Your friends’ public profiles, Page likes, birthdays and current cities
A small number of people also shared their own News Feed, timeline, posts, messages, and friends’ hometowns with “This Is Your Digital Life.”

All in all, Facebook is saying that the data of 87 million people was acquired by Cambridge Analytica.

You can find more Tech Treats here.

 

 

Source link

ESolutions

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: